THE ANSWER 2.0

You once asked me if I was ready,
You asked me to be your sweet and steady,
But I had to softly decline,
due to the current position of mine.

I always knew you were there,
Just a kind man I worked with daily,
But never did I dream you had a care,
for a simple quiet girl like me.

You shocked me with your question,
and my answer may have felt like defeat,
but believe that you caught my attention,
you were right, you couldn’t be pushed back into your seat

Because you took a step into my life,
and suddenly became my closest friend,
You became my rock amidst all my strife,
and pledged your patience, you’d help me mend,

And its patience i will need,
as the past may continue to make me bleed,
And i cant promise i wont carry scars,
or that you wont have to free me from behind bars,

But I want you to know this my dear,
That when i may seem cold as stone,
It’s you i miss, i want you here,
I know i wont be alone.

So make the same mistake again.
For its as if I’m yours already,
Here’s my heart, I’m showing you the way in,
please ask me again to be your sweet and steady.

Written by ‘The Woman Emerging’

"Tell me what you're thinking?"